What to say

So it’s been a while since my last blog post, other than a connecting walk post in January. Now I’ve pondered why I haven’t posted and it’s mainly because I’ve not had so much to say now I’m not working in the same world I once was!!

It’s been 6 months since retiring from the fire service and my work life and my personal world are different to what they were for 30 years which has led to me looking at what I wanted from these blogs.

However, recently a number of people have asked me when my next post would be and if I’m honest I wasn’t sure I was going to do another one.

This was mainly because I started the blogs as a well-being process for me personally and as a way to empty my mind. It seemed to work and helped with thought processes and rants by writing them down. Recently though, I’ve found my thought processes are calmer and less stressful and this can only be linked to not working in that world anymore.

Now I have more time to focus on my own thoughts, my own well-being and my own family and leisure time it’s meant I have the time to refocus on what I can do to become a better Stoic and “try” to be better at my approach to Stoicism.

I’ve spent some time with old friends and ex colleagues who I regard as friends and it’s nice to meet people and talk less work and more random stuff. This week for example I met and had a coffee with an old colleague who is also a friend and we talked about well-being, his faith, my lack of faith, Halal food, podcasts and more random stuff.

This time was well spent for both is us and I promised him I would write another blog and get back on the blogging regularly.

So my theme this time is happiness, as I recently listened to a podcast of Steven Bartlett,” The diary of a CEO”. Episode 101. The guest Mo Gawdat has come up with the happiness equation. I suggest you listen to the podcast for the full breakdown but the bit that struck a chord with me and that really mirrors Stoicism is this:

Someone says something hurtful, so you think do they like me?

Ask yourself is this thought true?

If it isn’t true then drop the thought as there’s no point in unhappiness

If it is true, is there something I can do about it?

If the answer is yes then do it, don’t wait, just do whatever you need to and move on.

If the answer is no I can’t do anything, then can you accept this and move on despite its presence?

Now this is a very long winded version of Stoic philosophy

“External thinks are not the problem. It’s your assessment of them. Which you can erase right now.” Marcus Aurelius

“Don’t seek for everything to happen as you wish it would, but rather wish that everything happens as it actually will—then your life will flow well.” Epictetus

As always your view will be different to mine on this and Stoic thoughts are not for everyone but maybe listen to the podcast, listen to Mo’s story and why he is this way and then reflect on your own position and situation and whether you can accept things and move on despite their presence.

As for me and this blog, I am going to try and write more and have some thoughts of a simple well-being podcast based on real people and how we deal,with wellness and well-being.

Stay tuned ,stay safe, be kind

❤️

Leave a comment