Retirement

30 years in one job, one organisation, one uniform is a commitment I’m proud of and proud to have served my community. Living in Birmingham and having served a lot of my career in and around Birmingham stations and Commands I truly feel I have made a difference to the area I live in.

However, I haven’t done this alone and have learnt, lost, gained and progressed along the way. 

Courage, Wisdom, Justice and Moderation are words many of you will have heard me use. That’s because they are the four ancient Stoic virtues and I believe, now more than ever, they are applicable to our daily life and the career we have all chose.

To be successful in this job I feel it’s important to learn as you go along, to reflect and to have a system. It took me many years to find my system and there were a few stumbles along the way, but I would like to tell you these in the following words.

So, I give you these words freely and for you to share, think upon or ignore.

Have the Courage to risk your life when needed. It’s a privilege to be in that position and to have the opportunity to save a life.

Have the Wisdom to know when a life is lost, or a building can’t be saved and make sure you use this wisdom wisely, so you live a long prosperous and virtuous life.

Remember sometimes in this world, there is what you would call Rough Justice, sometimes the innocent don’t survive and we can’t control this.

Moderation is key to everything, too much ruminating or re-living things is the road to ruin. Moderate your reactions to events and you will find that path.

Have the courage to stand up for your convictions or your principles but have the wisdom to recognise when a fight is lost, as you cannot change the mind of a fool.

When standing up for yourself or others remember justice is a virtue even if it means you lose out.

Moderate how much of “You” you give to fighting a cause.

Approach each day with a curious mind, remember the art of a leader is in “getting people to “want” to do what must be done and enjoying the journey”.

You can achieve this and keep your virtue and your principles, but it is hard and at times a lonely road.

Show up each day, be consistent, be kind, if you need to, let the day flow over you, use your wisdom to know when this is required.

Keep your own standards high, polish your shoes, wear your uniform and make an impression by showing others.

Accept people will steal your work, take credit for your ideas and go higher and faster than you, off your slipstream, so use your wisdom to recognise this says more about them than you.

Leave people in a better place than you found them. Sometimes this is a simple as a “thank you”

A hug, a smile, a conversation about something other than work is more important than “the work”

You can be “in the crowd” but not “of the crowd”, and you can always ask about the Elephant in the room if you do it with courage and wisdom.

Blaming others is a waste of energy, use that energy to nourish yourself and grow stronger and not blame others.

Remember when you look back at your career “these will be the good old days”, so don’t mortgage your present for the future.

Try to make your judgement accurately reflect the situation.


Your employer pays your wages so you can live your life, they are not your partner or spouse or your family. Remember your family will be there when your employer isn’t.

Recognise your Egoic mind is always present and you will do well to go against it. Importantly remember others also have their own Egoic mind!

If you get it wrong, try harder tomorrow but also accept it’s ok to get it wrong.

If each day of your life was your whole life, how would you live it?

Recognise when you have enough and realise this might not be the “enough” you think you wanted but is most likely the enough you need.

It takes greater Courage to forgive than to fight and hate.

But more than anything remember this:

“When it comes to it, nothing is more important than people and how you make them feel. If you can leave people with a good feeling, a smile, a laugh or contentment then be satisfied with your day”.

So finally I need to say thank you.

See this as the credits at the end of a 30-year film. You can leave the cinema now or you can stay and watch and hope, like a Marvel film, there is something at the end!

To my wife Sue and our son Joe. Thank you for your guidance, your love, your hugs and your shoulders to cry on.

Your support in the dark times and your laughs in the good times. It was all for you 2. Heart I wouldn’t be where I am now without you.

As we have talked about for a while now, they can’t sack me for what you think of them.

To my wider immediate family and in-laws. You have been there all along the way and heard the stories, seen the effects and listened.

Thank you for your support.

To my friends, work may mean we aren’t together as much as we would like but still you are there if required. Thank you.

Richard, thank you for the canal walk that day in 2018. (it was a safe place to talk and to cry and remember)

My fire service family and friends, too numerous to name individually over the years but here goes.

The other Sue in my life (work Sue) no words needed, always there to listen, to rant to, and to laugh. Thank you, a lunch or a Lakes meet up is required I think.

Over 30 years there are people who come and go and teams you remember you were a part of.

FF at Ladywood Blue (kindergarten watch), Ward End Blue (years of fun and best watch ever),

Crashed fire Engine, Trauma and hurt leading to 20+ years of debriefing and hopefully helping others.

Management years, B’ham Central (WMGR CS), Ladywood, Bournbrook, Solihull, Community Safety

Fire investigation, best team and lifelong friends.

Birmingham Command best group of Station Commanders and station teams. (We smashed it)

A work trip to LFB post Grenfell leading to a major blip and some time off to heal my mind, for those that were there for me then, for Costas (JE), breakfasts, meet ups etc. Only you and I know the difference it made. Thank you

Occupational Health for the care and support you showed me.

My go to people in PSS for all those questions I asked. (CG, SN, LM, TDP, KDA, JS, PW, TH)

FDS Cohort: a band of brothers and sisters, thank you for your guidance and care and laughs and reaching out. I hope some of you remember what I’ve tried to impart. (OH! and you can be “off duty” remember).

Big up the mighty Command Group 4!!!

Fire Control, what can I say, you ring us more than our families sometimes, you wake us up, you mobilise us, you comfort us and you guide us.

Thank you, my heroes in headsets. (bet you’ll miss me turning out! x) Too many in FC to name but you know who you are.

Special mention to Lucy.

The Covid “Team’s Social” crew, only we know why Gimp masks and Frozen Broccoli is funny, but you kept me sane and we kept each other going, Thank you X

And lastly OLPD, what a team of people we had, we were rocking it, achieving greatness, making people safe and competent, getting the work done, looking to the future. (JE, EW, GL, MF, KE, CM, VB, IS and others).

The fact it wasn’t recognised doesn’t make it any less great. But as we know even Real Madrid change managers after winning titles!!

Lifelong friends who I joined with Eddie, Jason, Jason.

New lifelong friends to take with me. Too many to name.

And as with Pop Master, thank you to anyone else who knows me.

I have always said I don’t know where I start and WMFS ends and which came first, but I know that this organisation has allowed me to live the life I have now and for that I am grateful and thankful.

If we have ever crossed paths for good or bad or for learning then I am either your friend, your enemy or a colleague. Whichever it is, please know that if you ring me for help or support I will be there, as we are all part of something greater and that’s a fire service family.

You can find me on Instagram

bomber_55

leadingintothefire

And finally remember

“We suffer more in imagination than reality”

W6240 Steve “Bomber” Harris.  02/09/1992 – 09/09/2022

Leave a comment